Beautiful Tote Bag

  I can never have enough tote bags.  Part of how I keep myself sane and organized is by having a bag for everything.  I have a bag for school, a bag for the gym, a bag for the dance studio and a bag for the library.  Each one has specific things I need for that destination, so I don’t have to haul everything all the time (I prefer my purse to be small).  Sometimes, simply out of necessity of needing the bag right then, the bags are ugly and utilitarian…but how much nicer when they’re beautiful!

  I found this tutorial last spring and fell in love with it immediately.  I knew I had to make at least one.  Unfortunately, I’m yet to find a source for affordable, beautiful leather like she uses.  I did however find some incredible, heavy duty canvas from a local recycling resource that sells industrial scraps.
My bag for the gym
  The tutorial itself is incredibly well written and easy to follow, so I won’t elaborate on it much.  The only modifications I made were to make my bag bigger and to insert an inside pocket (like this).  I also added a band of lining between the two canvas pieces for contrast (simply fold a small piece of fabric and insert it between the two fabrics before attaching them).
  Finding the rivets for this project was a little more difficult than I expected.  None of the sewing stores I checked had anything like what I was looking for.  The only place that seemed to have them was the hardware store.  Big box hardwares aren’t likely to carry them.  Find the store with 35,897 different types of screws. 
  I would definitely encourage purchasing extra rivets and grommets/eyelets to practice with, especially if you haven’t worked with them before.  Inserting them is in theory fairly simple, but getting them in cleanly takes some practice, and once they’re on your bag, they’re probably on there permanently.  
  I use the bag I’ve made all the time and couldn’t be happier with it.  …I think I’ll make another one soon!
  What about you?  Will you try this tutorial out?
Leave a Reply

