Does internet withdrawal cause the shakes?

  For approximately 24 hours Thursday and Friday I was an unwilling participant in an experiment on internet withdrawal.  Ok, that’s a little dramatic of me.  I did still have my phone, but our actual computers were all down, and I can’t have 3 billion tabs up at once on my phone like I can on the computer.  Besides, I hate typing on my phone.

  For whatever reason, our provider had problems with the entire city.  Nobody had service.  It was a beautiful, sunny afternoon and some big mother in the sky decided to kick everybody out of the house to play.
  Over the winter I’ve gotten a little overly dependent on the internet.  Between this blog, email, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, Pinterest, online tutoring and both my classes being “web enhanced” I’d started joking that I had an internet IV.
  Not having the option of puttering around online yesterday it became clear to me that maybe it’s not so funny.
  The Mr. and I are “those” people in that we don’t really watch tv.  We haven’t ever had it hooked up to the “outside world”, and the only things we do watch are either streamed or DVDs.  That screen isn’t a problem.  I’m starting to think maybe this one is.
  I’ve been feeling really overwhelmed lately, like there aren’t enough hours in the day to do what I need to and still occasionally get something I WANT to done.  I think a lot of it may have to do with my tendency to get sucked into browsing what other people are doing, instead of doing things of my own.
  Based on the weather the last few days, summer seems to have given spring a dose of roofies so it can engage in mortal combat with winter.  I think the nicer weather will be enough to tempt me away from my desk, but on the stormy and cold days I’m going to make a concerted effort to spend less time clicking aimlessly.
  I’ll still be checking in every day (probably still multiple times a day), but don’t feel like you’re being ignored if I don’t get back to you immediately on something, I love hearing from you guys!
  Now, if you’ll excuse me, I think I’m going to go enjoy the sunshine for a while.
Leave a Reply

