Feeding kids is hard. Morning edition

  It’s WAY too early and there’s no way you want to get out of bed.  Too bad your “alarm clock” is hungry.  For me, breakfast is the meal that is the hardest for me to convince myself to make.  For years I’ve made do with a pot of tea and a granola bar or cheese stick.  Turns out, it’s a bad idea to give caffeinated tea to toddlers. (I know, who’d have thunk it, right?)

  Luckily, I’ve found an easy, fast, healthy breakfast I can whip up for G even if I’m still half asleep.  Here’s what you need: 
Quick oats, applesauce, milk (or juice), a bowl and spoon!
  I start by pouring the oatmeal into the bowl.  G usually eats about half a cup, which is just the right amount for an individual sized applesauce cup. *Ok, quick edit, I’ve since measured more closely, the amount I put with an individual applesauce cup is 1/3 c, not 1/2 c…sorry guys!*  Applesauce goes in on top, like so:
Ratio of 1:1…half 1/3 cup oatmeal, half 1/3 cup applesauce
  Then I mix in any add ins I want.  Some of our favorite combinations are:
Apple/Peach Curry Oatmeal
1/3 c. quick oats
1 individual cup peach flavored applesauce or 1/2 c. plain applesauce
1/4 t curry powder
1/4 t cinnamon
Strawberry Shortcake Oatmeal
1/3 c. quick oats
1 individual cup strawberry flavored applesauce
1/4 t cinnamon
Bannana Bread Oatmeal
1/3 c. quick oats
1/2 ripe banana, mashed
Applesauce to desired consistency
1/4 t cinnamon
pinch ground clove 
Chunky Oatmeal with Fruit
1/3 c. quick oats
1/4 c. granola (with dried fruit)
1/2 c. applesauce
A nice thick consistency makes it easier to keep on the spoon instead of on the floor.
  After all my ingredients are mixed together, I pop the whole thing in the microwave.  30 seconds is usually about the right amount of time for us.  It should be nice and steaming hot when it comes out.
  To make it the right temperature for a little mouth to eat, I then mix in 2-3 Tbsp of milk, coconut milk or juice (depending on what we have on hand and what I think will be good with the recipe).
  That’s it!  You’re done!  Feed that hungry kiddo, they’re going to love it!  …by the way, you may just want to make up two bowls while you’re at it.  This is great for grown ups too!
  P.S.  I usually try and use the no-sugar added applesauce.  G is an applesauce fiend and has plenty of energy without me hopping him up on sugar.
  Let me know if you come up with any good variations!
Leave a Reply

