Decorating for fall, for essentially free

  You have to love it when Mother Nature decorates for you.  After all spring and summer working at the landscaping, it’s such a great feeling to sit back and watch the trees turn bright red, yellow and orange.  Yeah, they make a mess, but we like that “distressed” look around here.

  A great way to bring that fall feel to your home is to use the supplies that are already at your finger tips.  Leaves and sticks, acorns and pine cones are all in abundance at this time of year, so why not take advantage of them?
  I started by making a wire wreath core (I don’t know what they’re actually called) out of a wire hanger that had come home from the dry cleaner.
  Then I went out to my yard, grabbed a pile of sticks and broke them into somewhat even lengths.  I grabbed some yarn I had left over from an old project and some thin wire I had on hand and I was ready to start.
Wire cutters you need…needle nose pliers didn’t get used much
  I attached the sticks to the wire wreath by laying the end against one curve of the circle and then wrapping the small wire around both.  I found the BEST way to do it is to wrap the wire around your stick first, twist it shut (like you want to use the wire to hang the stick from the ceiling) and then wrap the remaining wire around the wreath before going around the stick again.
This takes a while.  Start with the big sticks and work to smaller
  When you’re done attaching all the sticks, it should look like this.  It’s not bad as is, but I didn’t like all the wire showing and wanted some more fall color, so I decided to wrap the portion attached to the wire in yarn.
…this takes a while too.  Not a quick project persay…
  The yarn winding is a little tricky, because it looks best if you wind it in between the branches to separate them out as you go, but I think the end result is worth it.
  Best part?  It didn’t cost me a single dime.  Even if you don’t have all the supplies, this is an incredibly low cost project.  I’m SURE you have at least one wire hanger you can sacrifice, sticks are free and yarn and jewelry wire are cheap, cheap, cheap.
  I’d love to see how it turns out if you make this!
Leave a Reply

