Halloween sewing (Dopey costume)

  I’m really excited.  Halloween is my favorite holiday, and this year I get to share it with my little boy!  Last year he was way too young to have a clue what was going on, so we skipped the costume and just let him nap.  This year we’re trying trick or treating.

  I know, I know…he’s probably not going to “get” it.  But he’s old enough he thinks dressing up is fun (finally!) and I think he’ll really get into running around to people’s doors.  If not?  No biggie.  It’ll be a short trip.  Either way, he’s little enough I’m totally going to trade him some applesauce for all his candy.  Have to take advantage of the ability to do that before he knows better and I have to beg him to eat any fruit/give Mama a Snickers bar.
  Because it’s my favorite holiday, I’m a little snotty about buying costumes.  If you’re going to do Halloween, you should do it right.  …because obviously all of us know how to sew and have the time to make up multiple, elaborate costumes, right?  Oh look…there goes a unicorn…I must be in fantasy land again…

  To be honest, I didn’t have time to do a costume for both me and G this year.  The election campaign is coming to a close, I had a big test two weeks ago, we celebrated our five year anniversary and I’ve been trying to get some end of the season landscaping done before the real cold hits.
  I have quite a few old costumes kicking around from college.  Some of them are a little…uhm…risque for a mom to be running around in (one of them involved a gold metallic spandex bodysuit…what was I thinking??).  After trying a bunch of them on, I decided my best bet was my old Snow White costume.  Which means G is going as this guy:
  I started out by using the button down shirt pattern I’d modified as a reference.
  I lengthened the pieces and added inches to the side seams to get a more floppy look (and so we can fit more clothes underneath if it’s cold).  For the collar, I sewed the shoulder seams together and cut out a rectangle the same length as the finished neckline, then folded it in half before attaching it.
  To create a “too big, rolled up” look for the sleeves, I created a faux cuff (that also finishes the sleeve edge).
  Turn the coat inside out and fold the sleeve up twice.  The unfinished edge should be touching the fold inside of your cuff.  Sew a line of stitching all the way around the cuff, just inside the fold, making sure you’re catching the raw edge in between the two other pieces.  Turn the coat right side out and flip the cuff to the outside.  Voila!  Your sleeve edge is finished and you have a faux cuff.
  For the hat, I cut out this funky shape:
  For fit, I put it on G’s head and then turned the extra up inside of the hat and stitched it at the seams.
  Add some buttons and a belt and you’ve got yourself one adorable little dwarf.
Now who wants to give me G some candy??
Leave a Reply

