Creamy Blue Cheese Spaghettini with Escarole and Walnuts (whew!)

  This recipe isn’t nearly as scary as that title makes it sound.  It’s a “ten-minute main” from the now defunct Gourmet magazine’s final issue.

  For whatever reason, I can’t find the recipe online.  Sorry guys, you’re going to have to put up with my editorialized version.  Here’s what we’re making:
  I want to preface this recipe by saying that if you don’t like blue cheese, just skip this one.  We love blue cheese (even G!) so it’s a winner at our house.  …also, ignore their claim of 10 minutes.  It’s 10 ACTIVE minutes, which, doesn’t mean a whole lot.  It takes more like half an hour start to finish.  Still not too bad all in all, but taking half an hour when you expect ten minutes can be the difference between a slightly whiny kid and a massive melt down.  Consider yourself warned.
  Here’s what you need:
2 garlic cloves
1 medium onion, quartered
1/2 lb spaghettini (I used plain spaghetti, spaghettini is just thinner)
3 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 c. coarsely chopped walnuts
1 lb prewashed escarole (I will use spinach next time)
1/2 lb blue cheese
1 Tbsp red wine vinegar
This is a half pound of spaghetti.  About the size of a half dollar coin.
  First, start your water boiling for your spaghetti.  I have faith in your ability to boil spaghetti, so I’m not going to go into further detail about how to do it, other than to say that you are going to need 1/4 c. of the water to put into your sauce when the cheese goes in, so don’t dump it too early.
  The recipe says “with motor running, drop garlic into food processor and finely chop.  Add onion and pulse until chopped.”  …I did it, just in the spirit of following the directions the first time, and I will admit, it’s a super fast way to get your onion and garlic chopped (to get us closer to that ten minutes), but it also got my food processor dirty for essentially no reason, which I’m not wild about.  I think when I do this in the future I’ll just go the slow route and chop it up by hand.
  
  While your pasta continues to cook, heat up 1 tbsp oil in a deep skillet.  Cook your walnuts, stirring occasionally until they’re golden (around 2 minutes).  Set them aside in a bowl.
  Heat up your remaining 2 Tbsp of oil and cook your onion/garlic mixture.  Mix in 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper.  Cook for about 2 minutes.
  Add your escarole spinach, blue cheese and 1/4 c boiling water from the pasta pot and stir until the greens wilt.  Stir in your red wine vinegar.  (oops, totally forgot to do this til I’d dished up a bowl…had to dump it back in and stir everything up again)
  Drain the pasta, add it to the skillet and mix in the walnuts.
  Serve it up and enjoy the blue cheesy goodness.
*As a note, I was unable to find straight escarole and used this mix.  I think the radicchio may have caused the extra bitterness that we didn’t really like*
Leave a Reply

