Maple Walnut Chicken

  Recipe time!  I promised no more fennel this time, and I’m sticking to it!  …I hope nobody is allergic to nuts…

  Here’s what we’re making:
  Here’s what you need:
Also, you know, chicken.
  You can find the recipe here.  Feel free to ignore their suggestion of spinach and pilaf to accompany the chicken.  I always do.
  This is a great recipe for when you’ve got a wild toddler loose in your kitchen.  It’s quick and straight-forward and there’s not really any chopping, so you don’t have to worry about dealing with knives while you’ve got a critter running between your legs.
  The original recipe says to rub the chicken with oil and seasonings before starting to let it stand.  That’s a great idea if you’re prepared and your chicken is entirely thawed.  I’m usually not that together, so I typically toast my walnuts while my chicken spends a last few minutes in a sink full of hot water.
  When your walnuts are toasted, set them aside.  If you’re like me, double check to make sure your chicken is now fully thawed (lord knows I’m not going to judge you!).
  Rub olive oil, thyme, salt and black pepper on the chicken.  Or, you know, gloat that you already did that (overachiever).
  Cook your chicken in the same skillet you toasted your walnuts in.  You want it to be entirely cooked through.  If you have mutant half-turkey chicken breasts like mine (nearly a pound each?!), I strongly recommend using a meat thermometer to make sure it is entirely cooked.
  When it has finished cooking, remove the chicken to a clean plate, leaving the juices in the skillet.
  Add your cider vinegar and cook, stirring, for about a minute.  Be warned, if you’re not a huge fan of the smell of vinegar, this step is sort of like releasing a cloud of tear gas.  Tough it out.  The end result is worth it.
  Add the maple syrup and 1/2 c of water and let the mixture simmer until you have a nice thick sauce.  Mix the walnuts in to the sauce and spoon over the chicken.
What kind of recipes are you looking for?
  Let me know and I’ll be happy to be a food guinea pig!
Leave a Reply

