Scallops and Cream

  I have a problem staying a healthy weight sometimes.  …it’s actually the opposite of what most people struggle with.  While most people are working to bring their weight down, I have to monitor myself to make sure I don’t get unhealthily thin.

  I try really hard to eat healthily, but the thing is, when I get really busy, sometimes I just forget to eat.  I understand that a lot of people consider this an “enviable” problem and are scanning my info to try and figure out where to send hate mail right now, but it sucks.  Nobody wants to look like this:
..even though Skeletor does have some rocking biceps
  Being sick around Thanksgiving, I lost weight.  I couldn’t eat anything but soup or hot tea without setting off a coughing fit for a couple of days, so obviously my weight started dropping.  Finals are coming up, I’ve been really busy with the business and Christmas stuff and G has been especially “independent” lately (fellow parents of toddlers know “independent” is in quotes because I mean “trouble”).  The mornings are usually spent trying to keep him from dismantling the entire house and once he goes down for his nap, I rush from the computer to the sewing machine to my books and back again trying to get everything done.  Next thing I know, it’s 3:30 and he’s waking up…and I haven’t eaten lunch.  
  I hit my “you’re too skinny” weight Friday.
  So…in an effort to fatten myself back up (in an at least somewhat healthy manner), we’re making this today:
Scallops and Cream
  Double bonus for me!  We haven’t been eating enough fish lately!
  Here’s what you need:
1 lb scallops
1/2 c. whipping cream
1/4 c. butter
1/4 c. parmesan cheese
2 tsp corn starch
1/4 c. dry white wine
1 green onion, chopped
1/4 tsp salt
4 c. linguine, cooked
  First of all, nobody freak out.  I know that the pasta in my pictures isn’t linguine.  There was a sale on spaghetti a while back and the Mr. stocked up on feed-a-football-team sized bags, so rather than getting too crazy about noodle width, I’m using what I’ve got.  If you’re going to be buying noodles either way, go with the linguine. 
  Once your pasta is cooked, melt your butter in a large skillet and saute your green onions.
  Add in your scallops and salt.  Saute, stirring often until the scallops are white.(about 3-4 minutes)
  Whisk together your cornstarch and wine.  When it is fully combined, stir it into the pan with the scallops and heat to boiling, stirring constantly.  Boil for one minute.
  Add your cream and cheese and heat until thoroughly warmed.  Serve over pasta and enjoy!
Do you have any great, heavy-on-the-butter but otherwise healthy recipes?
I also take cookie donations!
Leave a Reply

