Working towards minimalism. Or at least fire-safety.

Twas the day after Christmas, and all through my house
not an inch of floor showing, no room for a mouse.
The stockings were dumped out unceremoniously
and the baby had romped through it all with great glee.
  After the gifts were opened this year our house was trashed.
  …ok…BEFORE the gifts were opened this year our house was trashed.
  I thought about making “continuing to streamline our house” my new years resolution.  But then I realized two things.  One, it’s kind of cheating to make a resolution to keep doing something you’re already doing, and two, I don’t actually make New Years resolutions.
  So, since it’d be silly to wait until after the weekend for something that isn’t a resolution anyhow, and because it was driving us both crazy, the Mr. and I spent the entire day paring down the stuff in our house.
  I started with G’s toys.  He has a ton, and he only plays with 3 or 4 of them.  Probably because he can’t find any of them except the ones that are right on top.  Everything got categorized into types.  Soft toys. Noisy toys.  Balls.  Blocks.  Cars. 
  Once I’d assembled my giant piles, I culled everything down to 3 or 4 items from each.  My little boy loves cars, but he doesn’t need 29 of them at once.  It may seem like he has 37 arms some days, but the last time I checked he still only has the two.  I put 3 boxes full of toys into the attic.  He still has way more than he needs, but at least now it can all be put away at the end of the day.
  The Mr. spent the whole day in the basement.  His workbench in the laundry room has been a low priority since we moved in.  There wasn’t an effective way to organize things so we just kept piling tools on top.  And then when the top filled up we started piling them around it.  It meant a whole lot of frustration every time we needed a battery or a screwdriver.  He did a fabulous job.  Everything is off the floor and just about everything is off the workbench.
  After I finished with G’s toys, I moved on to my closet.  I pulled enough jewelry out of my stash to fill the bottom of a Kleenex box.  Then I moved on to my clothing.
  That’s three of the four and a half diaper boxes full of clothing and shoes I’m going to be donating.
  I’m a terrible clothes horse.  And a bargain hunter.  And I make my own clothing.  After taking out close to 5 boxes of clothes, I still have more than enough to wear.  But at least now there’s room to see what I have.  I’ve been really inspired by this section of Small Notebook and would love to get there.  Eventually.
  We still have a long way to go.  The room I’m sitting in while I write this looks like a bomb went off in it, and I’m not sure that our kitchen will every have less than 3 billion cooking “toys” in it.  But it’s a start.
How about you?  Do you plan to simplify as you move into the new year?
Leave a Reply

