A farewell to 2011

  As we finish out the last hours of 2011 I thought I’d take a look back at the year.  It has been an especially busy one and we’ve seen lots of changes.

December 31, 2010 December 15, 2011
  G has grown from a teensie baby to a wild little boy.  He took his first steps as 2011 was just beginning, celebrated his first birthday, rode on a bike for the first time, started occasionally going to daycare, started feeding himself, had his first haircut, went trick-or-treating for the first time, played in the snow for the first time and started really, truly communicating.  Every day he picks up new words and skills and I’m continually amazed by how quickly my “baby” has disappeared and how fast he’s become a little man.
G gives his new cousin a kiss
  The Mr. and I had lots going on as well.  We celebrated 5 years of marriage and 8 years of being together.  We marked a full year of having survived parenthood (yes, it’s great G is one, but I’m pretty sure parents should get a medal for having made it through the first year without losing their minds).  We mourned the move of close friends, (Pittsburgh, we’re not forgiving you) but had a great time taking a wine tasting trip with them up North. 
Mr. tries out an antique truck at one of the wineries
  The Mr.’s dedication at his job has gotten the huge project he’s been working on approved and the company recently broke ground.  He has done a ton of work around the house, from gardening to insulating, to electrical, plumbing and general handy-man-ness that has made an incredible difference in making our house a home.  He has been enormously supportive and patient about taking care of G from the moment he gets off work’s clock while I take on my many, many projects.
A nest of baby robins above our back door this summer
  You, of course, have been privy to many of my projects, but I’ve had plenty going on behind the scenes as well.  I founded g.c.b. at the start of the year, switching the focus of my previously bridal gown based company to baby clothing.  I re-stocked my etsy shop after a few years of it sitting idle and my line was picked up by two local stores.  I took my GMAT this summer and was accepted into Eastern Michigan’s graduate program for accounting.  I returned to class this fall and did so well that I was offered a position as an online tutor for statistics (which I will be starting next semester).  I discovered zumba and have become addicted.  I noticed (after two years of being in the house…clearly I’m observant) that we have a mulberry tree in our back yard, and found that both G and I love mulberries.  I ran for city council and lost, but made a lot of great connections in the process.  I founded a moms’ meet-up group and have met lots of new friends.  I tried (and partially succeeded) to simplify and organize our lives.  And of course, I also started writing this blog!
Clematis climbs up a trellis we built this summer
  It has been an incredible year and I can’t wait to see what 2012 brings us.
Here’s wishing you and yours a Happy New Year!
Leave a Reply

