Beef with Red Wine Sauce

  Today’s recipe is by far my favorite crock pot recipe.  I’m not entirely sure where I got my hands on a Southern Living magazine, but apparently I did, and boy am I glad.  Y’all.

  This recipe was extra special awesome when I was pregnant with G.  Every once in a while I would find myself really, really, really wanting a glass of red wine.  I didn’t want the alcohol, but I couldn’t figure out another way to get that flavor.
  Here’s what we’re making:
  Here’s what you need:
3 lbs boneless beef chuck roast, cut into 1″ cubes
1 medium onion, chopped
1 lb mushrooms, quartered
1.61 oz brown gravy mix
10.5 oz (~1 1/3 c) beef broth 
1 c red wine
2 tbsp tomato paste
1 bay leaf
Egg noodles
  Prep all your ingredients.  Place your beef, onion and mushrooms into your slow cooker.
  Whisk together your gravy mix, beef broth, red wine and tomato paste.  If you don’t have tomato paste (or don’t feel like opening the whole can for 2 tbsp), I’ve used ketchup with no problems.
  Pour your liquids over your solids in the slow cooker and add the bay leaf.  Cook on high for 6 hours.  Try not to lose your mind over how delicious it smells.  Start your noodles about half an hour before it’s supposed to be done, you aren’t going to want to wait a minute to eat!
Leave a Reply

