What I’m sewing 1/6/12-1/13/12

  Happy Friday the 13th everybody!  I’m going to blame the ambient bad luck juju for my not getting much done in the sewing department this week.  I finished a couple little projects, but nothing terribly flashy.

  The Mr. and I got a new comforter for Christmas.  There is very little in this world I hate more than having my comforter ball up in a corner of my duvet cover where it does absolutely nothing to keep me warm.  As a result, every single comforter we own has ribbon, or bias tape, or cotton tape across the corners like this.  And every single duvet cover has ties sewn into the corners.  Tie those suckers together and there’s no more problem.  What I want to know is, why don’t they come like that already?  It’s really annoying having to do it myself.  Is there somebody out there who is anti-comforter bondage or something?
  The other project I’ve been working on is a pair of pants for G.  My Mr. has caught the “less is more” bug and has started handing off his really ratty clothing to me to turn into something else.  These were a pair of khakis that had gotten paint covered and holey.  I decided the fabric’s roughed up look would be darling with insets of the cowboy fabric left over from the button down shirt I made.  G is still on his pocket kick, so I decided to add a pair of rounded pockets to the front, like you’d find on a pair of jeans.
  Assuming I don’t get mauled by a black cat while breaking mirrors underneath a ladder today, I plan to do a tutorial on how to add this kind of pockets to a basic pant pattern for next week’s sewing post.
  Until then, let me know if you have any questions or projects you’d like to see in the future!
Leave a Reply

