A failed recipe- Crockpot Chicken Cacciatore

  It’s a bonus post!  I just can’t get enough of you guys and so I had to throw in an extra post this week.  Also, I didn’t think it was fair to use a recipe that wound up being kind of lame for a legitimate recipe day.
  Here’s what I made:
I couldn’t even get a decent picture it was such a fail.
  Now, I want to preface this post by saying that the original recipe may very well have yielded better results.  Anybody who has been reading for a while knows I like to skip steps and combine things to make cooking take less time and yield fewer dirty dishes.  I’m just lazy like that.
  That being said, I don’t want you to have to repeat my mistakes, so here’s a run down of what you don’t want to do!
 Original ingredients:

4 chicken thighs
2 chicken breasts with skin and backbone, halved crosswise
2 tsp. salt, plus more to taste
1 tsp. freshly ground black pepper, plus more to taste
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 large red bell pepper, seeded and sliced
1 onion, cut into slices
3 garlic cloves, finely chopped
3/4 cup dry white wine
1 (28 ounce) can diced tomatoes with juice (San Marzano if available)
3/4 cup reduced-sodium chicken broth
3 tablespoons drained capers
1 1/2 teaspoons dried oregano leaves
1/4 c
up coarsely chopped fresh basil leaves
1/2 cup sliced black olives (optional)

  What I used:

1.5 lbs boneless skinless chicken thighs (about 6)
salt and pepper to taste
1 large red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
1 onion, cut into slices
3 garlic cloves, finely chopped
3/4 cup dry white wine
2 (14 oz) cans diced tomatoes with juice
3/4 cup chicken broth (not reduced sodium)
3 tablespoons dried capers
1 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning (I was out of plain oregano)
1/4 cup coarsely chopped fresh basil leaves

I skipped the olives because I didn’t wind up having any in the pantry.

  The first step in the original recipe is to cook your chicken in oil before you put it in the crock pot.  I don’t know about you, but to me, that sounds…like something I’m never going to do.  If I’m making a crock pot recipe, I’m going to chop my stuff, throw it in and hope the crock pot doesn’t light on fire and burn my house down.  (True story, a friend of mine worked processing insurance claims for a summer and apparently slow cookers take down houses ALL THE TIME.)

  So, I sliced my onions and layered them on the bottom (thought I’d at least make a gesture at following the original), stacked my chicken on top, put my peppers on top of that and then dumped the rest of the ingredients in.  I put it on high for 4 hours.  Erin doesn’t do pre-planning, 8 hours on low just isn’t in the cards.

  4 hours later, I took the lid off.  I left the chicken in, but I can’t even begin to fathom a reason that leaving the chicken in would have stopped the sauce from thickening.  Half an hour later, the pasta was cooked, the baby had taken his bath and the sauce was still like water.  The Mr. took over.

  He added two eggs to make a carbonara-like sauce.  No dice.  It stayed watery.  We were all hungry and G’s bedtime was getting closer and closer, so we just gave up and tried it.

  It wasn’t bad bad.  It’s not like there was anything offensive about the flavor (unlike some cooking experiments I’ve tried in the past), but it was incredibly bland.  I joked to the Mr. that we should keep the recipe for the next time I get pregnant and have morning sickness (last time I couldn’t eat anything with any more flavor than Kix cereal).

  I think it could be modified to be a successful recipe.  A whole lot more spices maybe…less liquids to start perhaps?  But as it stands, it won’t be getting added to my repertoire.  Not when it has recipes like my Beef with Red Wine Sauce to compete with.

  But!  Don’t fret, tomorrow is another successful recipe.  I’ll be showing you how to make Thai Pork Stew in the slow cooker, so come back to check it out.  Or, subscribe via email and you’ll automatically see the post in your inbox when it comes out.
Leave a Reply

