Slow Cooker Thai Pork Stew

  I have a sort of love/hate relationship with my slow cooker.  I love that I can just throw everything into it and walk away.  I hate that I have to remember to throw everything in and walk away more than half an hour before I want to eat.

  So when I had this recipe on the menu and forgot to start it until 1:30 in the afternoon, and then discovered my pork still wasn’t thawed, there were some choice words uttered.
  Never fear.  As usual, I went on a wing and a prayer, changed half the recipe and made it work.  Aren’t you glad I’m a screw up so you can get the cliff’s notes?
  Here’s what we’re making:
  Here’s what you need:

2 pounds boned pork loin, cut into 4 pieces
2 cups red bell pepper, chopped
1/4 cup teriyaki sauce
2 tbs rice wine vinegar
1 tsp crushed red pepper
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 cup beef broth*
1/4 cup creamy peanut butter

6 cups hot cooked basmati rice
2 tbs chopped, dry-roasted peanuts

* my version

  Throw everything in the first group, except the peanut butter, into your slow cooker.  I used a pork “picnic” (the Mr. says it’s pork butt) instead of pork loin.  I only used one bell pepper thinking it would be close enough to 2 cups.  Next time I will definitely add two, the flavor it adds is wonderful.  I added the beef broth because there was no way I was leaving my crock pot on low for 8 hours with 2:30 in the afternoon sneaking up, and I was concerned that without the extra liquid, the high setting might lead to disgusting, teriyaki tar in the bottom of my crock pot.
  I cranked it to high and left it for 4 hours.  At 6:30 I turned down the heat to low, added the peanut butter and let it all simmer while the rice cooked.  The meat got shredded into the juices and poured on top of our rice and the whole thing got served topped with peanuts.
  This is one of the few things G has gotten really enthusiastic about eating lately.  His teeth have been bothering him and he hasn’t been interested in food at all.  He loved it.
  The Mr. and I both had seconds, and I think in the future we might try the meat on tacos.
  Not too bad for something that started out with me cursing, huh?
Leave a Reply

