Slow cooker Indian curry

  Today is another new slow cooker recipe.  My love/hate relationship with the slow cooker is fairly quickly moving towards heavy-handed love.  With G teething, he’s inevitably grouchy by the end of the day and being able to snuggle him instead of trying to cook makes both of us happier.

  Here’s what we’re making:
  Here’s what you need:
1 13.5 oz can full-fat coconut milk

 1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed

4-6 frozen skinless, boneless chicken thighs 

1 T tomato paste

 2 T curry powder

1 t ground coriander

1 t ground cumin

1 inch peeled and grated ginger

 few dashes of hot sauce (I used Tabasco)

1 yellow onion. chopped

2 or 3 cloves of smashed and chopped garlic

1 green bell pepper, seeded and chopped

1/2 of an eggplant, chopped (I didn’t peel)

1 sweet potato, peeled and chopped

  I got a small eggplant and so I put the whole thing in.  I would also suggest seasoning with salt, as I found it improved the overall flavor tremendously to sprinkle a touch over each bowl.
  I started by mixing my coconut milk, tomato paste, spices and hot sauce together in the bottom of my slow cooker.  Next time I’ll use a heavier hand with the hot sauce, this batch turned out a bit mild for our tastes.  I added the chicken on top, coating it as is mentioned in the linked recipe and poured all my chopped veggies and beans on top.  I let everything cook on high for about 2 hours before turning it down and stirring everything together.
  Be warned, this makes a LOT of curry, your slow cooker is probably going to be filled to the top when you put all your veggies in.
  After cooking this on high for 2 hours, I turned it down to low and let it cook for another 4ish hours.  We served it over brown rice, sprinkled with salt and some extra hot sauce.
  If you’re a big Indian food fan, this is probably going to be a little bit of a disappointment.  It’s not bad, but there’s a flavor in the take-out we get from the restaurant that the Mr. and I haven’t quite been able to recreate at home.  It’s definitely a good dish, and I’ll be making it again, but I wouldn’t use it if you’ve got an Indian food itch you’re looking to scratch.
  One thing that’s definitely nice about this dish is that it makes so much food so inexpensively.  Even with leftovers for a few lunches kept in the fridge, we were able to freeze enough that I think we’ll be able to get two dinners out of what was left.
Leave a Reply

