Pomegranate Beef

  Today’s recipe is yet another slow cooker one.  It’s technically for a whole main course, but I’m telling you right now it’s worth making for the sauce alone.  We sucked down the beef and I saved the remaining sauce.  I poured it over some left over pork for lunch the next day and that was just as incredible.

  Here’s what we’re making:
  I didn’t have nearly enough sauce on it in that picture.  I hadn’t tried it yet.
Here’s what you need:
1 tablespoon olive oil

1 yellow onion, sliced

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon herbes de Provence

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

3 pounds beef roast

4 garlic cloves

1 can (14 oz) tomatoes 

1 cup unsweetened pomegranate juice

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

2 tablespoons maple syrup

1/2 cup raisins

  The recipe calls for golden raisins, but I didn’t have any so I used plain ol’ normal raisins.  It also called for “fire-roasted crushed tomatoes”.  I used diced and called it good.
  As with most slow cooker recipes, this one doesn’t get too fancy in the prep work.  You use the olive oil to grease the bottom of the pot.  Your spices get rubbed on the meat before it’s placed into the pot and then everything else is poured on top.
  The recipe suggests cooking on low for 8 or high for 5.  I’d suggest adding a little more time on.  It was wonderful, but it would have been even better if our meat had been just a touch more tender.  The sauce is like a fabulous French onion soup, and as I said, was incredible over potatoes and pork as well as the beef it was actually intended for.  Next time I may double the recipe simply to have some extra sauce to freeze.
Leave a Reply

