Cream Cheese Spaghetti Bake-semi-fail

*Bonus post!*
  *Don’t you guys love it when I have a recipe fail and you get to hear from me on Sunday?*

  This recipe has been ALL over Pinterest lately, so I decided it was worth trying out.  I want to start by saying that the fail isn’t that this recipe tastes bad.  It’s definitely good, the problem is, it’s not quite good enough to justify how much fatty goop is in it.  I am absolutely a proponent of indulging in fatty goodness on occasion.  But if I’m going to indulge, it better be really good.  I wouldn’t give up a bowl of ice cream for this, but I might make it in the future if my weight drops below where it’s supposed to be again.  Mostly because it was easy.

  If you decide you want to make this yourself, either because you have somebody you want to fatten up, or because you don’t believe me when I say it’s just not that awesome, here’s what you need:
12 oz spaghetti

1 (28 ounce) jar prepared spaghetti sauce

1 lb lean ground beef

1 tsp Italian seasoning

1 clove garlic, minced

8 ounces cream cheese

1/2 cup parmesan cheese, grated

  Start by browning your ground beef.  While you do this, your oven should be preheating to 350 degrees.  When your beef is cooked, pour off the fat (dump it into a jar or old can, not down your sink, it will ruin your pipes!).  Stir in your spaghetti sauce and set aside.
  If you’re mad talented like me, you can probably handle boiling some water while you brown your hamburger.  If not, don’t worry, it took me a bit too, you’ll get there.  Cook your spaghetti and drain it.  Mix in your cream cheese, Italian seasoning and garlic while it’s still hot.  Mix until the cream cheese is melted and spread through the pasta.
  Put a touch of olive oil on a paper towel and grease a 9x 13″ baking dish. Spread a bit of your meat/sauce combination into the bottom of your dish and top with spaghetti.  Cover with your remaining sauce.  Grate Parmesan cheese on top and bake for 30 minutes or until bubbly.
Leave a Reply

