Slow cooker Mac and Cheese

  Today’s recipe is a slow cooker version of everybody’s favorite dish; mac and cheese!

  This one almost doesn’t cook long enough in the slow cooker to work for me.  I’ve been doing the slow cooker meals so that I can have everything prepped and started in the early afternoon and don’t have to touch it for the two hours I’m tutoring.  With a total cook time of 3 hours, this barely gave me time to clean up and log in after I finished.

  Here’s what you need:
1 1/2 cups milk
12 oz can evaporated milk
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted, cooled to room temp
3 large eggs
1/2 tsp salt
3 cups shredded cheese- I used a combination of Italian blend and fontina
1/2 pound macaroni
Freshly ground black pepper to taste
can of diced tomatoes, drained (optional)
  Start by cooking your macaroni.  I know, I know…it’s a prep step with a slow cooker meal, but boiling macaroni is so much less work than browning meat or saute-ing veggies…just do it okay?  Besides, you don’t want to cook them all the way, so it won’t take more than 5 minutes or so.  Leave a little spine in the noodles so they aren’t a total mushy mess after cooking in the crockpot.
  Now, before you do ANYTHING else, grease your crockpot.  Wipe it down with olive oil, spray it with cooking spray if you must, but use something in there.  I didn’t, and my crockpot was a nightmare after I cooked this.
  Next, pour your milk, evaporated milk, melted butter, eggs and salt into your crock pot and mix together.  I wouldn’t suggest skipping the step of melting the butter.  I did that too.  I spent probably 5 minutes mashing it with a fork to get it to mix in, not actually a time saver.
  Once your liquids are mixed together smoothly, add in about half of your cheese, put your pasta on top, add the rest of the cheese and mix everything to coat it.  If you want to add tomatoes for an extra bit of flavor, now is the time to do it.  The original recipe says to top everything with parmesan at this point, but I decided not to.  We didn’t miss it.
  Start everything cooking on high and leave it there for half an hour.  Then turn the heat down and let it sit for another 2 and a half hours on low.
  Thanks to the eggs, this is a much richer mac and cheese than you’d usually get out of the oven.  Enjoy!
This post is part of My 1929 Charmer‘s Linkup Party
Leave a Reply

