Slow Cooker Ethiopian Chicken Stew

  Today’s recipe is for Doro Wat, or Ethiopian Chicken Stew.  Based on the name, I expected something a bit exotic.  I was surprised to discover that I already had every ingredient on hand!  Turmeric may not be a seasoning you use an enormous amount in your cooking, but it isn’t so different of a flavor that it should set off alarms for picky eaters.

  The flavor of this stew reminded me a lot of home stewed tomatoes.  We loved it!

  Here’s what you need:
1 can diced tomatoes (undrained)
1 1/2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs
1/4 cup lemon juice
2 Tbs butter
3 Tbs dried minced onion flakes
1 tsp ground ginger
1 Tbs paprika
1 Tbs cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp black pepper
1 tsp ground turmeric
2 cups water
1 hard boiled egg per bowl (optional) 
  If you want to top your stew with a hard boiled egg, I’d suggest taking care of those first.  While I’m not typically a huge fan of adding eggs to things willie nillie, I enjoyed the different flavor and texture they added to this stew.  The recipe makes around 8 servings, so cook 8 eggs if you think everyone will want one.  Peel them and stash them in the fridge til the stew is ready.
  This is a dump-and-go kind of recipe.  Everything goes in the crock pot and you turn it on.  Please note that I have up there that you’re adding a tablespoon of cayenne pepper.  We like spicy, so that’s perfect for us.  My Mr. even added some hot sauce after the fact.  But, recognizing that not everybody likes their food with that much kick, please temper it to your family’s spice tolerance!
  After everything (minus the eggs) is in the crockpot, turn to low for 6 to 8 hours or high for 4 to 5.  I actually (miracle of miracles!) did this one on low for once!  When the soup is done your chicken should be falling into pieces for you.  Ladle it into a bowl and top with an egg.
  As I said, my Mr. added a dash of hot sauce to his soup and I added a pinch of salt to mine, but beyond that we were happy with the soup as it was.  We will definitely be making this again!
  
Leave a Reply

