Brown sugar and maple slow cooker ham

  Today’s recipe came about because I screwed up.  Yaaaay me.  I was planning on making slow cooker thai pork stew…but I made the mistake of assuming we had the pork for it.  You see, last fall we got half a pig, so assuming we had pork on hand was beyond safe for most of the winter. 
 And we actually did have some pork left downstairs…but all of it was smoked.  I grabbed a package of smoked steaks that I thought would be around 2 pounds and started it thawing.  The closer the pork got to thawed though, the more I found myself thinking that using smoked ham for that recipe would be a waste…and possibly horrible on top of that.
  So I changed directions entirely and made this:
Yummy, sweet, brown sugar glazed ham.
  Here’s what you need:
~2 lbs smoked ham
2 c. dark brown sugar
3 Tbs maple syrup
1/2 c. water
  Chop your ham into chunks (so your sweet stuff can coat more sides of it) and place into your slow cooker.  Top with brown sugar and maple syrup and pour water in.  Cook on low for 6 hrs.  Serve with a sprinkle of kosher salt.
  This turned out really well.  Well enough that I’m considering purposely screwing up my grocery shopping next week just to give myself a push to try my hand at making something up again.  I may just be starting to get the hang of this whole “cooking” thing.  Or maybe I just love brown sugar enough that I could do anything with it and love the results.
  Either way, everybody liked it and we had enough that I got to have leftovers the next day (which were also wonderful).  Try it out and see what you think!  We’ll be back to “on the books” recipes next week, but I want to know if you have had any “oh why not just dump this all in” successes.  Let me know in the comments!
Leave a Reply

