Homemade mushroom soup

  Some evenings you really just want a bowl full of cream for dinner.  What, that’s just me?  Well, since it’s somewhat frowned upon to just pour yourself a dish of cream, lets make some soup, shall we?
  The writer of the original recipe (linked above) made a comment in their post that “you’ll never look at a can of mushroom soup again”.  If I only ate mushroom soup as soup, I might agree…but that statement makes me question if they’ve entirely missed out on the baking applications of a good ol’ can of condensed.  Sorry, but I am not making my soup from scratch just to dump it on a pork chop.  But since I was looking for a bowl of soup, not an ingredient, lets get started.
  Here’s what you need:
2 c. mushrooms, cleaned and finely chopped
1 Tbsp olive oil
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1 Tbsp butter
1 tsp dried thyme
2 bay leaves
1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
1 c. chicken stock
1 Tbsp flour combined with 1 Tbsp water
1/2 c. milk
1/2 c. heavy cream
Nutmeg, salt and pepper to taste
  In a saucepan, heat your olive oil and saute your garlic over medium heat.  Add your mushrooms, thyme, bay leaves and Worcestershire sauce and cook for about 5 minutes.  I didn’t go too crazy with chopping my mushrooms into tiny pieces…because I’m lazy and not great with a knife, but click on the link above and check out the original post…her soup turned out so pretty with them itsy bitsy.  Oh well.  My soup was delicious all the same.
  After cooking your mushrooms, add in your broth.  Turn up the heat and stir until the broth boils, then reduce the heat and simmer for 10 minutes.  Add in your diluted flour, mixing constantly until the soup thickens.  Season with salt and nutmeg.
  Next, add your milk and cream.  Bring to a simmer and turn off the heat.  Dish it up hot and top with freshly ground pepper.
  This soup was wonderful!  Cream of mushroom has been one of my favorites since I was a little kid and this certainly didn’t disappoint.  I will definitely be checking Season with Spice‘s blog for more recipes in the future!
Leave a Reply

