Fall Fruit and Potato saute

  So do you guys remember how last month I had the Autumn Sausage and Rice slow cooker recipe, and it was kind of awful and I said I’d share the fall sausage dish I do like with you?  I’m finally getting around to doing it!
  This is one of those recipes that I ripped out of a magazine years ago and stuck in my menu binder.  I can’t seem to find it online, so, you’re stuck with my version I’m afraid.
  Here’s what you need:
2 lbs of chopped, cooked potatoes (around 3-4 potatoes)
2 apples, cored and chopped
1 tsp dried sage (or 1Tbs fresh)
2 pkgs cheese filled smoked breakfast sausages
15 oz can pears in heavy syrup
1 tsp dried basil
olive oil
  If you don’t happen to have pre-cooked potatoes laying around, start with those.  You can chop them and then boil them in water, or you can stab them with a fork a few times and throw them in the microwave to bake (around 5 minutes for one potato, probably around 8 for 3).  The method of cooking doesn’t make so much difference, but they have to be cooked before they go in.
  Heat around 2 Tbsp of olive oil in a large pan and when it is hot, add your cooked potatoes, apple, sage and basil.  Next add your sausages.  I find that I prefer to have smaller chunks of sausage in my dish rather than entire links, so I typically break them into pieces as I stir.  Add your pears (with juice) and stir.  Cover and simmer for 10-12 minutes over medium heat.  When this is finished your apple should be tender and everything should be heated through.
  I love this dish.  It’s easy and the combination of sweet fruit and savory meat and potatoes is just wonderful.  Those lil’ smokey sausage links don’t exactly put it on the top healthy meals of the year list, but then, I can think of significantly worse things we could have for dinner, so I’m not going to stress about it.
Leave a Reply

