Slow cooker pizza casserole

  Remember how I said that I would try nearly anything that promised to taste like pizza?  Yeah, I meant it.  Which is why today we’re making pizza casserole in the slow cooker.  

Here’s what you need:
1 box spiral pasta, rinsed but not cooked
1 lb ground beef
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1 cup pepperoni, chopped
1-16 oz jar pizza/pasta sauce
1/2 c. water
1 c. shredded mozzarella
  Wipe the inside of the crockpot with a small amount of olive oil on a paper towel.  
  In a medium skillet, brown your ground beef with the onions, garlic and green pepper.  I know…pre-cooking for a crock pot meal is against my principals…but it’s PIZZA.  I can’t help myself.  When your beef is browned, drain the excess fat.
  Rinse your pasta and put it into the slow cooker with the rest of the ingredients.  The original recipe had you dump the sauce and water on top of the other ingredients and then top everything with cheese.  I did that and wound up with a giant, rubbery wad of cheese on top.  Next time I’ll be stirring the cheese in.  Once everything is in, set your slow cooker to low for 3 hours and don’t stir!
  Other than the cheese being a bit of a fail, this turned out really well.  The kiddo liked it and I liked it.  Not sure about the Mr, he was kind of running all over the place while I was home so I didn’t get an opinion out of him.
  I think maybe I’m a pizza-aholic.  …is that a thing?
Leave a Reply

