Spinach pie

  The recipe I’m sharing today is one of the very first things I pinned on Pinterest.  It looked delicious and it was vegetarian to boot.  But I put off making it because I was afraid of working with pastry dough.  Silly me.
  The site it came from is called “Cooking with my Kid” and despite my fears, this recipe is easy enough that I was able to make it, while in a rush, with G tugging at my leg without getting frustrated.
Here’s what we’re making:
  Here’s what you need:

2 Tbs olive oil
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 (10 oz) boxes frozen chopped spinach, thawed and water squeezed out
1/3 cup scallions (or chives), chopped
1 cup grated Gruyere cheese*
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
2 large eggs whites, lightly beaten
1 Tbs Italian seasoned bread crumbs
1 tsp kosher salt
1/3 cup toasted pine nuts*
2 sheets (1 box) frozen puff pastry thawed
1 extra-large egg beaten with 1 Tbs water for egg wash

*I am a strong believer in trying recipes as written the first time.  That being said, I personally cannot taste the Gruyere strongly enough to justify the extra expense over Swiss in this recipe.  The same is true of the pine nuts.  I use sunflower seeds.
  Start by preheating the oven to 375 degrees.  Heat your olive oil in a skillet and saute your onions until they are soft and start to turn clear (around 5-7 minutes).  Add your garlic and saute for another minute.
  To a large bowl, add your squeezed spinach, sauteed onions and garlic, scallions, both cheeses, bread crumbs, salt, pepper, nutmeg, pine nuts and all eggs except for the one for the egg wash.  Mix everything until it’s a big, goopey mess.
  Next it’s time to work with the puff pastry.  This is the part I was freaked out about, but honestly I didn’t have any issues at all with it.  The original recipe commented that puff pastry dough can get sticky, but I used our Sil-Pat mat and a silicon rolling pin and had no issues at all with just a little bit of flour on each side of the dough.  I let my dough thaw by placing it on my counter for about 45 minutes.  Roll one sheet out flat and stab it a few times with a fork.  I don’t know what the fork stabbing does, but my pastry turned out wonderfully having done it, so stab away!  Or, if you’re brave, don’t stab, and tell me what happens.
  If you have a square pan, place your sheet of dough into the pan and let the edges drape over the sides.  If you’re like me, pull out an 8×10 casserole dish while making frustrated noises about “pbft, square pan.  Who owns a square pan anyhow?!” and lay the dough on the bottom.  Don’t worry too much about it, I screwed up how the dough was supposed to work horribly and it still turned out perfectly.
  Scoop your spinach mixture onto your dough, leaving plenty of room around the edges to fold the pastry up around it.  Now flatten out your second piece of dough the same way you did the first.  Stab this one with the fork as well and place it on top of your first piece of dough and spinach.
  If you want to follow the “correct” directions, fold your top piece down and tuck it underneath, then fold your bottom dough up around it and pinch the edges together.  If you’re in a hurry and distracted, fold the bottom piece up and fold your top piece down around it.  Either way, brush the whole thing with your watered egg wash and stab that fork into it a few more times.  Imagine it’s somebody who has been annoying you.  …a great stress reliever, isn’t it?
  Now bake for 40 minutes.  Allow the whole thing to cool for around 20 minutes before slicing so you don’t let loose a tidal wave of spinachy lava.  Enjoy!
  This was another big win at our house.  G has been kind of picky about eating vegetables lately.  He loves my spinach lasagna, so I wasn’t surprised he liked this, but it was a relief none the less.  Typically I worry a little that if we have a large amount o
f leftovers with a meal that they’ll go bad if some of them don’t get frozen.  I didn’t have to worry with this.  Every bite of it was gone within a few days.
Leave a Reply

