Thankful for silly technology

  Last night I went to a good friend’s birthday party.  We’ve known each other since middle school, and so even though I know I always wind up staying out too late and feeling like I’ve been hit by a bus in the morning, I make it a point to go every year.

  This year, on my drive home, I took a different route back.  You see, it’s no longer winter in Michigan, so it’s construction season.  The entire town I live in is currently covered in signs like these:
  …the idea was to take a route that avoided running into them on the way back.
  Unfortunately, our town isn’t the only one around that has decided to celebrate spring by ripping out all of their streets and I found myself butted up against several dead ends standing between me and the way I knew home.  …and please, before you say I should follow the detour signs, let me tell you that, for whatever reason, the people who put out “detour” signs in Michigan seem to have getting you as far from your original destination and as lost as possible as their sole goal.
This is not the kind of shortcut you take when you don’t know where it’s goin’
  It’s times like these that I have to stop and thank every star in the sky that I live in a time where I have a tiny computer in my pocket that not only can bring up a map of pretty much anywhere I want, but can pinpoint for me exactly where on that map I am.
  I could have gotten home without it.  There are several different options I had, but at 2 am on a dark, very cold night, the last thing I wanted to do was turn around and drive 15 minutes back to find the expressway route that was going to force me to deal with all the detours in my town. 
  Yes, technology is invasive and it has its flaws and I’m sure it’s rotting our brains and our personal relationships and and and.  But at the end of the day, when it’s used correctly…man is it awesome.
Leave a Reply

