Pittsburgh

  I had mentioned back at the end of last year that some of our good friends had moved to Pittsburgh.  This past month they bought a house there, and while we’re not happy about the fact that a house makes it even less likely they’re going to move back, we were excited for them.  Last weekend they threw a housewarming party, so we packed G into the car and made the trek to see them.
  Nobody told me that Pittsburgh is nothing but a series of hills and bridges.  Holy cow you guys.  I tried really, really hard to get a picture that captured just how steep most of these roads were, but the camera kept flattening it out.  This is the best I could do:
  I honestly felt like I was on a roller coaster being winched to the top of a hill on some of these roads.  Or, you know, going down one…
  Our friends’ house is beautiful.  It has gorgeous parquet floors and incredible, huge windows that I would be painfully jealous of, if I weren’t pretty sure I’d go crazy wondering if people were looking in them all the time.
  The entire area is beautiful.  I really wish I had been able to take more pictures, but seeing as we took my car (and I’m really cranky about other people driving my car when I’m in it) I had to keep my hands on the wheel and my eyes on the road…instead of a camera screen.
  We had a wonderful time visiting our friends.  We ate, drank, laughed and generally caught up.
  We played a few rounds of our usual game of croquet…making sure it was extreme, of course.
(In extreme croquet these shots are not only considered playable, but expected to happen)
  Our friends hadn’t seen G in quite a while, so they had fun seeing how big he was getting, and he had such a good time visiting that on Monday afternoon he demanded we drive back.  (He was undeterred by my reminding him of the 5 hour drive each way)
  We really enjoyed ourselves.  Pittsburgh is a lovely city and it was great to see our friends.  I absolutely would recommend going for a trip.
  Just make sure you check the brakes on your car before you go.
Leave a Reply

