Chocolate chip cookies

  So I know that the official “Chocolate Chip Cookie Day” was last Tuesday, and that I technically missed the boat, but I needed something to take with me for the Wild Women’s weekend before Tuesday…and I’m sad now, after the official day…so obviously somebody screwed up when they were deciding what day of the year chocolate chip cookies were going to be the most needed.
  Or maybe I’m just fashionably late.  Either way.  We’re making cookies.  Hush.
  This is my family’s recipe for making chocolate chip cookies.  I got it from my mom, who I’m pretty sure got it from her mom (or one of her aunts)…and based on many of the other recipes in our family, it’s fairly probable that somebody, 60 years ago, took a recipe off a Toll-house bag and made a teenie, tiny alteration to it that changed it into the fabulous recipe that has been “ours” ever since.
Here’s what you need:
2/3 cup shortening
2/3 cup softened butter
1 cup sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
3.5 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
12 oz chocolate chips
  Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.  Thoroughly mix your shortening, butter, sugars, eggs and vanilla.  After they are mixed, add the rest of the ingredients.  Do NOT try and do everything at once.  Flour will explode everywhere.  I may be saying that from experience.
  Scoop rounded teaspoonfuls of dough onto an ungreased cookie sheet, 2″ apart.  Bake 8-10 minutes or until light brown.  Cool slightly before removing from the pan.
  Typically when I’m making these I use two pans in rotation.  I load one up, put it in, prep the second pan and then clean what I can while I’m waiting.  In our oven, around 9 minutes is the perfect browning time.  The first pan comes out, the second pan goes in and around 4 minutes til the second pan is done I start taking the first batch of cookies off the pan.  So long as the phone doesn’t ring and the toddler doesn’t wake up, the timing is almost always perfect for me to have all the cookies onto the cooling rack and new dough balls back on the pan by the time the other set is coming out of the oven.
  This makes a lot of cookies.  The number I get tends to be somewhere between 4 and 6 dozen, depending on how heavy handed I am with “mounding” my teaspoons.  They freeze well, so it’s not a huge deal, but be aware, you’re not going to be winding up with a modest number of sweets.
  When my mom makes these cookies, they turn out wonderfully lumpy and “tall”.  Mine wind up larger and flatter.  That’s because I’m incredibly lazy and melt my butter instead of “softening” it.  You also get flatter cookies if you use the mixer to stir in the dry ingredients instead of mixing it by hand.  (see “lazy” above)  Hers are prettier.  Mine are easier.  I’ll call it a tie.  Regardless of the shape of these cookies, they’re always delicious.  Try them out and let me know what you think!
Obviously this recipe got the “Feeding toddlers is HARD” tag of “G ate it” approval
Leave a Reply

