Mustard Rosemary Chicken with Carrots and Potatoes

  So the other day when I said the Chicken, Mushroom & Leek Casserole was likely to be the only Martha recipe I showed you guys, I’d forgotten about this one.  Oops.  My statement still stands that I find most of her recipes too much work for too little return, but it turns out a few of them have snuck into my recipe book none the less.
  That being said…I think Martha may have decided that this recipe is no longer up to her bat-penny standards (probably because it’s easy enough for me to make) and has pulled it off her site.  I can’t for the life of me find it anywhere.
Here’s what we’re making:
  Here’s what you need:
12 small carrots (or a few handfuls of baby carrots)
1 Tbsp + 1 tsp olive oil
1/4 salt (coarse is preferred)
1/4 cup Dijon mustard
4 cloves garlic, minced
1.5 tsp chopped fresh rosemary
4 skinless chicken thighs*
4 skinless chicken drumsticks*
8 red potatoes, halved*
Pepper
* These are what Martha wants you to use, I use whatever is on hand, because I’m cheap and lazy
  Start by preheating your oven to 425 degrees.  Toss together your carrots, 1 tsp oil and 1/8 tsp salt in a bowl.  Spread out evenly on a rimmed baking sheet and bake until carrots begin to soften (10-15 minutes).*
 
*If I’m feeling really lazy I skip this and just bake everything together
  Combine mustard, garlic, chopped rosemary and 2 tsp oil in another bowl.  Rub mixture over your chicken.  Toss the remaining oil and the potatoes in a bowl.  Sprinkle with remaining salt.
  Add the chicken and potatoes to the baking sheet and bake until the chicken is slightly golden and a thermometer inserted into the thickest part reads 165 degrees (about 45 minutes).  Season with pepper and serve.
  This is a great way to cook your side dishes at the same time as your meat.  I’m awful about remembering to make anything but the main course, so this is awesome for me.  We’ve found that G loves chicken drumsticks, so those usually are what we use for this (really, what kid doesn’t love a meat Popsicle?).  I’m not sure if this would translate to the grill or not, so it’s probably not the best recipe to plan for the dog days of summer, but until it gets really hot, it’s great!
Leave a Reply

