Sauteed Summer Squash

  Summer is here and that means grocery stores and gardeners have zucchini and yellow squash coming out their ears.  I’m excited.  I love fresh summer squash, and I may have gone a little overboard the other night.  As in, I may have cooked so much that I wound up eating only squash for dinner and we still had a large bowlful leftover.

  Here’s what we’re making:
  Here’s what you need:
2-3 small zucchini and yellow squash*, sliced
olive oil
salt
pepper
dried thyme
dried basil
*The smaller the better.  Big squash is bitter squash. 
 Look for squash the diameter of a silver dollar or smaller.
Save the baseball bat sized zucchini for chasing off woodchucks.
  I apologize that these aren’t measured out…I’ll try and give you a basic idea of how much I use, but it’s all very much to taste.  Start by heating 2 Tbsp or so of olive oil in a large skillet.  When the oil is hot, throw in your squash.  Stir everything around until your squash starts to soften and then season with salt, pepper, thyme and basil.  I’m guessing I use around 1/4-1/2 tsp of each, but I just season and taste as I go.  I also use home dried herbs, so they’re a lot more flavorful than store bought.  You may have to up the amount if you’re using something off the shelf.  Continue stirring for another 3 minutes or so until the squash is tender but not squishy.  Serve warm.
  I love this.  I probably don’t have to say that after admitting to eating enough to constitute a whole meal…but this is one of my favorite early summer side dishes.  G wasn’t wild about it, but at least chewed on it for a good 3 minutes before spitting it out.  Rather impressive for a vegetable lately.  2 year olds and green things don’t really play nice.
  Try it out.  You know it’s a lot better for you than another loaf of zucchini bread (not that there’s anything wrong with zucchini bread!!!).
Leave a Reply

