Marinaded Flank Steak

  Saturday I was stung in the foot by a bee.  And not just anywhere on my foot, on the bottom, in the arch.  This doesn’t really have anything to do with today’s recipe, except that I remember when I was little and was stung by a bee, one time my mom put steak tenderizer on it to help it feel better.  I’m honestly not even sure what steak tenderizer is, but Saturday evening I found myself wishing I had some.
  Bees, I thought we had an understanding!  I let you hang out in my garden and you make honey and don’t sting me.  Not cool.  Not cool at all.
  Anyhow, here’s what we’re making:
Oyster Sauce Marinade
1-2 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tbsp oyster sauce*
3 Tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp sherry
* found in the Asian section of most grocery stores
~1 lb flank steak
  Mix all ingredients together and pour over steak.  Marinate at least 1 hour.
  Remove steak from marinade and place on a broiler pan.  I highly recommend putting tin foil over your broiler pan before doing this.  Place your steak under the heated broiler in your oven, with the rack as high as you can get it, for approximately 3 minutes on each side.  This will yield a rather rare steak (I like them that way!) so if you want your meat more cooked in the middle, cook it for slightly longer.  Allow your steak to rest for about 5 minutes, slice and enjoy!
  The only problem with this recipe is this: I love next-day cold steak.  This never seems to make it that long.  I really need to double it next time.
Leave a Reply

