Continuing the Stuff Removal

  It feels like I’ve been doing this forever.  Pulling stuff out of drawers, off of hangers, out of cupboards and donating, giving or throwing it away.  We’re getting there though.

  Painting the kitchen has been huge.  We had to move everything off the counters, off the top of the cabinets and out of the way to paint.  Once it was all out of there, we realized, we kind of like it empty.
  It looks fabulous and it makes me want to get rid of stuff in other rooms.  I can appreciate the bowl of fruits and vegetables I set out this morning.  It doesn’t disappear into a pile of stuff.  It’s like art.  I love it.
  If you’re working to minimize the stuff in your life like I am, try and really declutter one room completely.  I can’t believe what an inspiration having the kitchen free of visual gunk has been.
  Take everything out and then question everything before it goes back in.  It’s far too easy to let clutter accumulate from habit of not having somewhere better to put it!
  Another (kind of embarrassing) way I’ve been encouraging myself to get rid of stuff is to watch “Hoarders”.  …I hadn’t seen it until a few weeks ago when somebody made a comment that it made them want to clean.  Now I’m addicted.  Not because I enjoy seeing other people’s mental illness, but because watching it helps me recognize the bad decisions I’m making when it comes to my own things.
  I said to my Mr, you watch it and you think to yourself  “oh silly hoarders, you have dead cats in your house!  I would never have dead cats in MY house” …and then later that day you pick up some trashy trinket or ball of yarn or something else you really don’t use or need and think to yourself “hmm, this is in my way, I’ll just put this over heeeere…OH GOD, that ball of yarn/trinket/ect is what leads to DEAD CATS!  Get it out, GET it out, GET IT OUT!!”
  It’s really, really hard to recognize that I don’t have all the time in the world to knit or sew or bead or cook everything I’d like to.  Having the occasional, easy to cue-up example of what happens if you really lose sight of how much stuff you’re capable of managing helps me.  So do the coping methods the doctors give the people on the show.
  I’m not a hoarder, but that doesn’t mean I can’t relate to the feeling.  I kept Boris’s anxiety medication for several weeks before I finally recognized that I was leaving it on the counter in some delusional belief that it could bring him back.  After watching the first episode, it struck me that I have more yarn than I will probably live long enough to knit…and that honestly, a lot of it is just stuff I’d been keeping because it had been given to me and I was “sure” I would find a use for it.  Apparently I’m just belligerent enough that I have to learn my decluttering lessons second hand!
  Anyhow, just wanted to check in with you guys and let you know that, yes, I am still getting rid of things.  This isn’t a fast process!  If you’re doing the same thing, stop by the Facebook page, let me know what is working for you and what you’re using for your inspiration.  I’m always looking for more help!
Leave a Reply

