Jamaican Banana Fritters/Pancakes

  Who else has had a sweet tooth lately??  I decided it was worth justifying breakfast for dinner and trying out a new recipe.  You could, of course, make these for breakfast at the normal time, but I’m far too lazy to do that much cooking before noon.

  Here’s what we’re making:
  Here’s what you need:
3 ripe bananas
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 cup sugar
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 Tbsp baking powder
1/4-1/2 cup milk
Olive or coconut oil
  The original recipe has you start by mashing your bananas and then mixing in the egg, vanilla, sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg.  I’m lazy, so I just threw it all in the food processor and pulsed for a few seconds.  Don’t try and use your processor for adding in the flour though…you’ll make a huge mess.  (Of course I’m not speaking from experience…why would you think I would be? *coughs*)  Once your flour and baking soda are mixed in, add enough milk to make the batter runny.  I needed closer to 1/2 cup than 1/4, but I also didn’t actually sift my flour like the recipe wants you to.  Because I clearly want my home ec teacher to cry.
  When your batter is ready, heat a few teaspoons of oil in your pan.  I tried both the olive oil and the coconut oil and was surprised that I couldn’t really taste a difference.  The banana really covers any flavor the oils might add, so pick your oily poison, it’s probably not going to alter your end result.  Get the oil up to temp over medium heat and scoop in a dollup of batter.  This is where you’re really going to see if you thinned everything out enough.  If not, just mix in more milk.
  Cook your pancake until it starts to bubble a little around the edges and you can slip a spatula under it easily.  It takes a few minutes.  Flip it and cook on the other side.  Don’t freak out if it looks like you burned it, the banana in the mixture makes these turn out a lot darker than normal pancakes.  I stopped one when it was perfectly golden brown…and it was still raw in the middle.
  As soon as you take your pancake out of the pan, sprinkle it with a dusting of cinnamon sugar.  You don’t technically have to do this, but if you’re going to go, go big, right?  We topped ours with maple syrup too, so we pretty much all went into happy little sugar comas after dinner.
  These (unsurprisingly) taste a lot like banana bread.  The Mr. and I both liked them, and G surprised no one by enjoying his as well.  This makes quite a few, so plan on feeding a crowd or freezing some.  I would estimate that we froze about half the batch.  Next time I make this I think I’m going to channel my chocolate chip banana bread and throw some chocolate in!
Leave a Reply

