Using Baking Soda to Kill Weeds

  Our yard has incredible soil.  I suspect that ours was one of those that back in the day was raised out of the swamp by sheer willpower and dirt-hauling.  That’s awesome for the things I want growing in our yard.  The unfortunate thing is that it’s also awesome for weeds.

  I have a tough time keeping up with them.  Mulch is a great option for in flower beds, but we have a lot of places weeds grow that mulch won’t work.  Like in the cracks between our driveway and the stonework edging.
  I’ve been doing my best to pull up weeds every chance I get, but it’s getting old.  I saw the idea to put baking soda on the soil on Pinterest and thought I’d give it a try.
  This is two full weeks of neglect.  Normally by this time that crack would be teaming with green, viney nonsense.  Granted, it does look like my driveway has a cocaine use problem…and granted, there hasn’t been any rain in that time…but I’m going to go ahead and call this a win.  I haven’t had to weed around the pillar at all in two weeks and it has stayed nice and plant free.  My Mr. is currently blasting the weeds along the rest of the driveway and I think I’ll be dousing those cracks with baking soda too.
  Even if the next rain we get (soon please…please?) washes away the effect, baking soda is cheap enough I don’t feel bad regularly dumping it on.  Besides, it’s not like I don’t already always have it on hand to dump on my head and scrub my face with!
  If you guys are interested in following up with me on how this goes after we eventually get some rain, hop on by the Facebook page and let me know!
Leave a Reply

