Honey Baked Tomatoes

  I did it!  I got G to eat, and even enjoy tomatoes!  I told you Monday that he’d enjoyed the whole meal, and while I am, of course, always glad to find a new main dish he likes, the chicken was a distant second to finally getting him to eat tomatoes.
  Here’s what we’re making:
  Here’s what you need:
 Ripe tomatoes, cut into thick slices
Honey
Breadcrumbs
Tarragon (or herbs de Provence)
salt
pepper
butter
  I took the measurements out because I never follow them.  If you’re curious about what they are, click through the link above.
  Start by cutting your tomatoes into slices.  Cut from side to side rather than top to bottom to get the best likelihood of your slices staying in one piece (this means the stem part on top should be in the center of a slice).  The original recipe calls for 8 tomatoes.  Seriously.  I never use that many…though honestly, these are good enough that they’d get eaten if I did.
  Mix together your breadcrumbs, tarragon (I never seem to have plain tarragon, so I use herbs de Provence which has it in there), salt and pepper in a bowl.  You’ll want enough to cover the top of each slice, so I usually do about 1 Tbsp of breadcrumbs per tomato I’ve cut.  Don’t feel like you have to be hugely exact with the spices, typically I use around 1 Tbsp of tarragon and a pinch of salt and pepper.  I typically make 3 or so tomatoes.
  Prepare a baking sheet by covering it in tinfoil.  Do NOT skip this step.  Baked on honey is a nightmare to try and scrub off.  Spread your tomatoes out and drizzle honey over them.  Sprinkle your breadcrumb mixture on top and place a small piece of butter on each one.
  Bake your tomatoes at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.  The skin should be starting to wrinkle.  If you’d like to crisp up the top a little, throw them under the broiler for 5 minutes or so (but I usually skip this step).  Serve warm and enjoy!
  Be warned, these are addictive.  The sweetness of the honey compliments the tomatoes perfectly and the butter makes the breadcrumbs just incredible.  Enough so that I was able to convince a picky little toddler who haaaates tomatoes that he liked them.  Try them out with the Orange-Glazed Chicken…it makes for a great meal!
Leave a Reply

