Ham and Swiss Tartine

  Those of you who have been reading for a while already know that I’m a big fan of occasionally throwing a sweet twist into a traditionally savory meal.  Well, look out ham sandwiches, I’m at it again.

  This recipe wasn’t exactly found anywhere, but it was inspired by the late Gourmet magazine’s Ham, Manchego and Fig Tartines.  …but they wanted snooty ingredients like manchego*, so…we’re messing with it a bit.
  Here’s what you need:
Good bread (I like sourdough)
Butter
Swiss cheese
Sliced deli ham
Jam (fig if you can find it, but raspberry is also delicious)
*Please note, I am all for snooty ingredients when they make a difference, I just personally have a hard time detecting a flavor difference between manchego and swiss that justifies the price difference in this application.

  There are two ways you can go about starting the construction of this sandwich.  You can either mix together your jam and butter and spread it on all at once, or, “why would I do THAT?” types like me, you can just spread the butter on and then put the jam on top.  Either way, layer your ham on top and cover it with cheese.  Now, depending on if you want your bread toasted or not, either cook it in a pan (like a grilled cheese) or throw it under the broiler in your oven.  Either way, you want your cheese nice and melted.  Serve it warm and enjoy, that’s all you have to do!
  G pulled his into the different components before eating it, but enjoyed all the pieces.  And I…well I ate 3 of these myself.  Hey…no judging, I have my reasons.
Leave a Reply

