Pasta with Sausage and Cheese

  I wasn’t entirely sure that, having been on the road all of last week, I was going to have any dishes photographed and ready to write up for you guys.  Luckily, I found a couple pictures I’d taken in the worst of the morning sickness and forgotten about!
  Here’s what we’re making:
  Here’s what you need:
2 Tbsp olive oil
6 oz pork sausage (I use sweet Italian) 
Kosher salt, to taste
1 cup pasta
1⁄2 cup white wine
1⁄4 cup blue cheese, crumbled
1⁄4 cup heavy cream
1⁄4 cup loosely packed fresh oregano leaves
1⁄4 cup grated Parmesan cheese, for garnish
Freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  Start by heating your oil in a skillet and browning your sausage.  While it is cooking, boil your pasta, reserving 1/2 cup of the water when you drain the liquid (if you can remember to anyhow, I always seem to forget).
  Add your wine to the sausages and cook until it’s reduced by 1/4 (about 2 minutes) and then add in the blue cheese, cream and oregano.  Cook until the cheese melts and the mixture is thick and bubbly.  Stir in your pasta and season with salt.  If your sauce is TOO thick, use that reserved pasta water (or just tap water) to thin it out.  Garnish with Parmesan cheese and grated pepper to serve.
  I love this dish.  You guys already know I’m a blue cheese fiend, so I doubt anybody is surprised, but it bears saying anyhow.  G dug right in and ate his share too, and this is so quick and easy to make, with such wonderful, rich flavors.  You can’t beat that!
  A note with the wine…since I’m pregnant, obviously I’m not going to be enjoying the rest of the bottle with dinner, so I’ve found that the tiny “juice box” sized bottles are perfect for most recipes.  They’re a great option for when you’d rather not open a full bottle but want the flavor in your dish.
Leave a Reply

