The Paris Wife-A Review

  I’m kind of an addict when it comes to reading, so I thought I’d try my hand at a few reviews on here.  I’ll do my best not to drop any spoilers and I’ll try to let you know when I don’t like a book because of personal biases…
  And now without further adieu:
  First things first, we’re going to get one of those “personal biases” on the record.  I’m not a fan of the work that came out of the period this piece is about.  Fitzgerald, Stein and Hemingway aren’t my cup of tea.  The whole “OH, woe is me, Daisy doesn’t love me, I’m going to go cry in my enormous, waterfront house full of never-read books” thing that the Great Gatsby and so many other books of the era have going on just makes me want to slap somebody.
  That being said, I do love a good historical account, so, despite my lack of fondness for the work of one of the main characters, I thought I’d give it a go.
  Another quick disclaimer:  The three books I read before this one were all pretty action packed and had magic, dragons or zombies in them, this book couldn’t help but come across as a little tame.
  I can’t say I loved this book, but I can absolutely see why other people would.  You follow Hemingway’s first wife, Hadley across the globe, through the romance of their meeting, falling in love, and the drama of their marriage.  Other famous authors of the time populate the pages like some kind of historical, literary year book.  Their adventures and interactions are well written and you can imagine yourself sitting at a table just next to theirs.
  …but Hemingway is portrayed as rather a moody brat, and frankly I had a horrible time getting past my dislike of him.  Thanks to his rather disdainful treatment of women in his own writing, I already had a bit of a chip on my shoulder about him, and this book did nothing to assuage it.
  Also, there were no zombies, which made me sad.
  All in all, Paula McLain did a wonderful job emulating the style of the Jazz Age writers in The Paris Wife, and if you are a fan of the style, I heartily recommend this book.  If not, it’s certainly not a bad read, but you may be better served by something else.
  Have a book you’d like to see reviewed?  I’m always looking for my next fix read, so please, give me suggestions!
Leave a Reply

