Crunchy Honey Garlic Chicken

  I finally did it.  With this recipe I FINALLY impressed my husband with my cooking.  That’s saying something, since he’s typically the master chef in our house!
  Here’s what we’re making:
  Here’s what you need:
4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
  2 cups flour
4 tsp salt
4 tsp black pepper
3 Tbsp ground ginger
2 Tbsp ground nutmeg
2 tsp ground thyme
2 tsp ground sage
2 Tbsp paprika
1 tsp cayenne pepper 
4 eggs
8 Tbsp water
Honey Garlic Sauce

2 Tbsp olive oil
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup honey
¼ cup soy sauce
1 tsp black pepper
  Now, there are a couple of different places you can start with this recipe.  We’re going to be pounding our chicken until it’s .5″ thick…so you can break out your mallet and start walloping away…or you can make your breading first.  The clump of ingredients in the middle is the “breading” list.
  As I was making this, I found myself gasping a little at how large the amounts of spices were.  I only cooked 2 chicken breasts, and I forgot to cut the breading amount in half, so the amount of breading I wound up was a truly, atrociously excessive amount…but even for the original recipe I suspect it will be a bit much.  Luckily, this recipe is delicious, so at least I won’t mind having the breading pre-made and ready to go in the cupboard.
  To make sure I wasn’t infecting the breading I wanted to save with salmonella or, I don’t know, mad chicken disease, I spooned it out of the bowl I mixed it in onto a plate with a bit of a lip.  Whenever I needed more, I spooned it onto the plate and was ready to go.  Lots and lots of breading left and no worries about food poisoning.
  Once your breading is mixed and your chicken is smacked around (it should be an even 1/2″ thick), make your egg wash (4 eggs with 8 Tbsp water) and we’re ready to start breading.  I found that a pie dish was perfect for my egg wash, since it gave me lots of room for swishing the chicken without worrying about spills.
  You may want to make your honey garlic sauce at this point.  More accomplished cooks, who can do more than one thing at a time, can probably handle making the sauce while the chicken cooks.  I made mine at this point so that my kitchen didn’t burn down.  To prepare your sauce, saute the garlic and olive oil in a skillet over medium heat until the garlic is soft, but not browned and then add the remaining ingredients.  Simmer everything for 5-10 minutes and then allow it to cool before you dip your cooked chicken in it.
  Heat a skillet with about 1/2″ of canola oil in it over medium heat.  Keep an eye on the heat as you cook as you want the inside of your chicken to be done cooking at approximately the same time as the outside is finished browning.
  Start by seasoning your chicken with any salt and pepper you might want to add.  Dip it in your breading and coat it well.  Move it to the egg wash and turn it so both sides are coated and then move it back into your breading, patting it on thickly.
  Gently place your chicken into your hot oil (careful not to let any spitting oil burn you!) and cook for about 5 minutes on each side.  I found that using a large, flat spatula AND a pair of tongs worked the best for turning the chicken without tearing off the breading or causing huge oil splashes. (It was my getting the breading evenly on the chicken that impressed the Mr., btw)  Drain the chicken for a few minutes on a wire rack and then dip it into the cooled honey garlic sauce.  Garnish with chives and serve.
  This chicken is incredibly good.  It was a bit more work than I usually put into my cooking, but it was well worth it, and having made it once I think it will be much easier next time.  Especially since I’ve already got the breading made up and waiting in the cupboard.  G and I shared the larger of the two chicken breasts and we were fighting over the last bite.  None of my Mr.’s survived to make “leftover” status either.
  This will definitely be going on the menu regularly.
Leave a Reply

