Traditional Meatloaf

  Happy Labor Day everybody!  In honor of the holiday, I thought I’d put up a “traditional” meatloaf recipe, to go along with the blue cheese cherry and rosemary turkey versions I’ve already shared with you.

  Here’s what we’re making:
Here’s what you need:
1 1/2 pounds ground beef
1 egg
1 onion, chopped
1 cup milk
1 cup dried bread crumbs*
salt and pepper to taste
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons prepared mustard
1/3 cup ketchup
*I didn’t HAVE bread crumbs, so I subbed oatmeal I ran through the blender
  Start by preheating your oven to 350 degrees.  Combine all of your ingredients, except for the last 3, in a large bowl and mix.  I find that the easiest way to do this is with your hands.  Rubber gloves help if you’re not wild about having raw meat under your fingernails.  Lightly grease a loaf pan and place the meat mixture into it.
  Mix your remaining ingredients to form a sauce and pour over top of the loaf.
  Place your pan in the oven and cook for 1 hour.
  I’m not going to try and sell this recipe as some sort of new taste sensation…we’ve all had good ol’ meatloaf…but it is good for when you’re just in the mood for some simple, hearty comfort food.  The boys both dug in and I did too.  Certainly nothing fancy, but worth having on the menu occasionally!
Leave a Reply

