Inside Out Slow Cooker Pot Pie

  Today’s recipe is, in my Mr.’s words, “pleasingly bland”.  I’m not going to call it a fail, because it’s entirely unoffensive…it’s just…not that special either.  It’s kind of like cafeteria food, where you certainly aren’t going to crave it, but it’s easy, filling and you find yourself going back for a second dish for some reason you can’t entirely explain.
  Two cans of cream soup being the base of it may have something to do with it.
  Here’s what we’re making:
Here’s what you need:
1 large can Cream of Chicken Soup
1 small can Cream of Celery Soup
1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breast (uncooked)
1 lb. frozen peas and carrots
1 packet Onion Soup Mix
3-4 russet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/4 inch cubes
1/2 cup water
1 can Biscuits (optional)
  I’ve marked the biscuits on this as optional because we didn’t use them.  We’d had quite a few carb heavy dishes right before I made this…and actually had just thrown away some biscuits that hadn’t gotten eaten from a previous meal, so I figured I’d leave them out.  I don’t think they need them.  If you are going to use the biscuits, they get baked separately, and your stew gets served over top of them.
  Aside from the biscuits, everything on your ingredient list gets tossed into the crock pot and cooked on low for 8-10 hours or high for 4-5.  If you chicken isn’t tender enough to chunk apart on its own by this point, cut it into pieces and stir it through the stew.
  Like I said, this isn’t going to be the dish you’re making to impress guests, but it is a nice, easy comfort food dish.  G ate it without any real complaint (though he did avoid the peas), my Mr. had two bowls and it was easy enough on my stomach that I was able to eat it without really having much of an appetite.  If I did have one real complaint about this it would be how salty it is, so if you’re able to find low sodium versions of the soup, I would point you in that direction.
  Other than that, this is a great “pantry” meal that you can keep just about everything on hand for and throw together on a day you’re just not feeling up to something fancy.
Leave a Reply

