Slow-Cooker Pork with Ginger and Coconut Milk

  Well, classes are back in session, so it’s back to slow cooked meals so something is ready for me to eat before I run out the door!
  Here’s what we’re making:
  Here’s what you need:
~3 lbs boneless pork butt/shoulder roast
1 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper
2″ piece ginger, peeled and thinly sliced
4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 onion, cut into chunks
1/2 can coconut milk
  Start by mixing together your coriander, cumin, salt and pepper.  I went a little light on the cumin this time, because even though I’m feeling a LOT better, cumin is still setting off my morning sickness a bit.  Rub your spice mixture onto your pork roast and place it into the bottom of your slow cooker.
  Add your chopped onions, garlic and ginger to the slow cooker and pour your coconut milk on top.  Allow to cook on high for 5-6 hours or low for 8-10.
  As always, if you are far more ambitious than I am, and capable of preparing your meal first thing in the morning so it can cook 10 hours, low heat will yield much more tender meat, and I applaud you.  I’m barely capable of making toast without burning our house down until I’ve been awake a few hours, so I inevitably wind up taking the “high heat” route.
  Even on high heat this turns out incredibly well.  The coconut milk keeps the meat nice and moist and tender and it has a great flavor.  I did wind up sprinkling just the smallest amount of sea salt on top of mine, but putting in the right amount of cumin at the start may have made that unnecessary.
  The Mr. and I both enjoyed this, it made great leftovers and even G dug in.  He was NOT so sure about the radishes we served to him on the side, but hey, can’t win them all, right?  I ate my leftovers straight out of a bowl, but this would also make fabulous sandwiches.
Leave a Reply

