Crockpot Pineapple Chicken-Possibly Recoverable Fail

  Today’s recipe has potential.  Maybe.  It was disappointing.  The pineapple soaked up all the sauce and got unpleasantly salty and the chicken was rather bland.  I suspect that not putting the pineapple fruit itself into the slow cooker would help…but I’ll have to try it another time (or one of my brave readers could try and report back!)

  Here’s what we’re making:
  Here’s what you need:
4 frozen chicken breasts
1/2 cup soy sauce*
1/2 cup teriyaki sauce*
1 can pineapple chunks,  drain half the juice out
Crushed red pepper flakes
*several of the reviews I read about this recipe complained about how salty it was, so I made certain to use low-sodium soy sauce and the lowest sodium teriyaki glaze I could find.
  Start by placing your chicken into your crock pot (spray with non-stick spray if you’re not going to use a liner) and pour your remaining ingredients over top.  Cook on high for 4-6 hours.  Shred the chicken with forks and serve over top of rice.
  …like I said…this was disappointing.  If I try it again I will probably substitute in chicken thighs to add moisture (and delicious fat of course!), add the pineapple juice but not add the pineapple chunks until the end and do my damndest to cook it on low for 6-8 hours instead of high.
  As it was, G ate the chicken but refused to even try the pineapple.  The Mr. and I ate it, but didn’t bother saving the leftovers.  The idea has potential…it just doesn’t work this way.
Leave a Reply

