Cheeseburger Pie

  Today’s post is for a recipe I put off and put off trying.  I knew we would like it…but I was frankly horrified by knowing we were going to like it.  “Hey Bob!  You know what would make this cheeseburger even better?  If it were PIE too!”  …oy.  But, as I said, I knew it’d be something we’d like, so I gave it a shot.
  Here’s what we’re making:
  What you need:
1 can crescent rolls
1 lb ground beef
1/4 cup finely chopped onion
1/3 cup dill pickle, chopped
2 Tbsp ketchup
1 tsp prepared mustard
2 Tbsp flour
2 Tbsp dill pickle juice
2 Tbsp milk
2 cups colby cheese, shredded
  Start by preheating your oven to 375.  In an 8″ pie dish, unroll your crescent rolls and use them to create a crust in the bottom and up the sides of your dish.  (I suggest letting any little helpers you may have on hand do this while you take care of the next step)
  In a skillet, brown your ground beef.  Drain the excess fat into a can.  Stir in your onion, chopped pickle, ketchup and mustard.  Sprinkle with flour and add pickle juice and milk. Cook and stir until thick.
  Take your skillet off of the heat and mix in 1 cup of shredded cheese.  Pour the mixture into the prepared crust and bake for 15 minutes.
  Remove from oven and sprinkle the rest of your cheese on top.  Allow to stand until cheese melts.
  Serve with extra pickles, ketchup and mustard.
  The original recipe for this uses American cheese instead of colby.  As horrified by the concept of this as I was, I needed to at least do something to make it a bit less like actual fast food, so I swapped in “real” cheese.
  As expected, this was a huge hit.  G devoured his portion and demanded the leftovers for several days lunch afterwards.  It does taste just like a cheeseburger, and I guess, looking at what goes into it, it’s not that bad…  I just have to get over the name…
Leave a Reply

