Crockpot Beer Chicken

  Being back in class this semester, the crockpot is a go-to meal option for the nights I’ve got to go to school.  I can prep dinner far in advance and it’s ready when I need to eat and still good to go when the boys want to eat later.  I chose this recipe because I was hoping it would turn out similarly to my “Just Add Beer” chicken, and I was in luck!  G had this last week while I had my test and liked it so much that he said to his babysitter “My Mama is the BEST cook”.  He may be biased, but this still sounds like a winner to me!
  Here’s what we’re making:
  Here’s what you need:
4-6 Chicken Breasts or 1 Whole or cut up Chicken*
1 Can of any kind of Beer
1/2 tsp Garlic Powder
1/2 tsp Basil
1/2 tsp Paprika
1/2 tsp Black Pepper
1/2 tsp Kosher Salt
Optional: 1.5 cup baby carrots
* I used a Costco pkg of 5 drumsticks since the G-critter seems to prefer legs
  I especially like this recipe because your chicken can start out frozen.  I’m terrible at remembering to thaw my meat ahead of time and so being able to take it straight out of the freezer can be a life saver.
  Put all of your ingredients into the slow cooker.  If your meat is frozen, cook on high for 4-5 hours or low for 8-10.  If it is pre-thawed (over achiever!) cook it on high for 3-4 hours or low for 7-8 hours.
  This turned out really well.  The meat stayed nice and tender with all the liquid in the pot and adding the carrots meant I didn’t have to think about prepping a vegetable when it was through cooking.  Next time I think I’ll probably also add some chopped onion and potato, just to push it even closer to the “Just Add Beer” end result, but I was very, very happy with this!
Leave a Reply

