Black Bean and Chicken Enchiladas

  Ok, so this recipe is jumping the line a little bit, but having just taken my final exam I’m a little too fried to write up anything I’ve cooked less recently.  Besides, I’m annoyed with how much I’m struggling with getting my light box pictures to turn out pretty, so it’s time for a nice, natural light one.

  Here’s what we’re making:
  Here’s what you need:
2 cups diced or shredded chicken breast meat*
½ teaspoon ground cumin
½ teaspoon ground coriander
½ teaspoon garlic powder
2 Tbsp fresh cilantro, chopped
1 (15 oz) can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 (4.5 oz) can diced green chili peppers, drained
1 (10 oz) can red enchilada sauce
flour tortillas
2 cups Mexican blend cheese, shredded 
1 (8 oz) container sour cream
* a rotisserie chicken is an easy place to get this!
  Now, you may have noticed already that the original recipe name is “enchilada casserole” where mine are actual enchiladas.  That isn’t because I’m opposed to the idea of making this as a casserole, so much as because I knew I was making for myself (and only me) to eat for most of a week and thought the actual enchiladas would be easier to dole into servings.
  Yup, if you didn’t believe me before about how little I like to cook, there’s your proof.  I pick my menfolk up from the airport tonight, but the entire time they’ve been gone I’ve subsisted on one giant pan of enchiladas.  Oh…and cookies…but we’ll get to those later.
  So to make this dish, you need cooked chicken.  The original recipe suggests cooking the chicken with the coriander and cumin and only using the rotisserie chicken for “extra lazy nights”.  EXCUSE me, but I rather take offense to the idea that because my priorities involve making my child clothing from scratch and hand distressing his furniture instead of cooking up a chicken breast that I’m lazy.  I strongly encourage the use of rotisserie chicken.  So there.
  However you get your chicken cooked, you’ll be putting it in a large bowl with the rest of your filling.  If you’re starting with pre-cooked chicken, make sure you add in the spices you would have otherwise cooked it with.  Now is a good time to get your oven preheating to 375 degrees while you mix everything up.  In addition to your spiced chicken you should also add your cilantro, chilies and black beans.  If you’ll be wrapping them into individual enchiladas you’ll want to add half your cheese and half your sour cream to this mix as well.
  Regardless of which method you’re going to use, spread half of your can of enchilada sauce in the bottom of an 11″x7″ish baking pan.
  Now we split into camps:
  If you’re wrapping individual enchiladas (like I did):
  Spoon a few Tbsp of filling onto your tortilla and wrap it before placing it seam side down in the pan.  Repeat until all of your filling is used, sandwiching the enchiladas against each other in the pan.  Spread the remaining enchilada sauce over top.
  If you’re making the casserole version:
  Place 4 tortillas in the bottom of your casserole dish, overlapping if you need to.  Place 1/2 of your chicken mixture on top.  (Remember, this version you haven’t added the cheese and sour cream to the mix yet).  Sprinkle with half the cheese and dot with half the sour cream.  Spread the remaining enchilada sauce on top.  Cover with another layer of tortillas and top with the remaining chicken mixture.
  For both versions:
  Cover with aluminum foil and cook in preheated oven for 30 minutes.  Remove the foil, cover with remaining cheese and, if desired, remaining sour cream** and cook for an additional 5-10 minutes until the cheese melts.  Let cool 10 minutes before serving.
** I didn’t add mine at this point and just put it on top if I wanted it as I reheated my enchiladas.
  This turned out really well…yes, I’m anti-cooking and so I’d probably have eaten this all week even if it hadn’t been great, but I really haven’t minded having these enchiladas every night for 5 days.
  Obviously I can’t vouch for the opinions of the boys…I don’t see any reason they wouldn’t enjoy them, but I won’t go putting words in their mouths.  Clearly these are still good as leftovers, and I expect they would freeze well too!
Leave a Reply

