Ruffle Scarf

  I didn’t actually sew anything this week.  Clearly there’s something horribly wrong, right?  I’ve had a rather stressful week dealing with some medical results that I got back and some less than professional behavior in response to my wanting information about it…which I promise I’ll tell you about, but I don’t want to be slinging mud until I have more to go on than speculation.  All in all the situation shouldn’t be terribly serious, but it’s being handled extremely poorly.  Myself and the baby should be fine, but needless to say, I’m in a foul mood and so instead of working on my sewing machine I’ve mostly napped and vented to my friends.

  Rather than leave you with no craft on Tuesday and no sewing on Friday, I thought I’d share a xmas gift I created a little bit early.  I try not to post gifts on here because I don’t want to take the chance of ruining people’s surprises, but I happen to know that the person who this is for (my mom) doesn’t “do” reading blogs, so it should be safe.
  Ruffle yarns have been everywhere in craft stores this holiday season, and I couldn’t help but wanting to try them out.
  I hadn’t been particularly enamored of the multi-colored versions I had found, but my local JoAnn’s had a basket full of solid cream Red Heart Sashay (Aran) and so I scooped up a couple balls.
  A lot of the finished scarves I’d seen had been…well…a little scrawny.  The directions that come in the package claim you can make your scarf with one ball of yarn…and that with 6-10 stitches cast on you’ll be good to go.  I wanted to make sure that mine was nice and fat…but not too short to have a nice drape either, so I wound up using a skein and a half for my scarf.
  I used the pattern-indicated US9 needles, but cast on 12 stitches rather than 6 or 10.  I found that as I worked, if I slipped my needle into the next hole as I worked, my rows weren’t nearly as pretty as if I skipped over a hole or two and let the yarn create gathers as I worked.  Obviously this uses more yarn, but it creates a much prettier, frothier scarf that doesn’t need as much fussing to look full.  I worked until my scarf was 48″ long.  It’s not wrap-around-your-neck, muffler length (I thought that would be too overwhelming with how fluffy it is), but it’s long enough that both ends will fall to the waist instead of ending in the middle of your chest like a 38″ scarf would.
  This was a fun, quick little project, and I love that it turned out looking like some kind of lace boa.  I think it’ll be gorgeous on my mom.
  If you’re going to be playing with ruffle yarns, I’d definitely suggest going bigger.  Yeah, you could do it with one, but splurge on that second ball of yarn and let it fall loosely as you knit and you wind up with a much richer, more sumptuous looking end result!
Leave a Reply

