Curried Honey Mustard Chicken

  I could have sworn I already wrote up this recipe.  I think maybe I had it in my head that because they both have dijon mustard that the recipe for Mustard Rosemary Chicken was this one.  Maybe this is just a case of pregnancy brain.
  Either way, here’s what we’re making:
  Here’s what you need:
1/3 cup butter, melted
 1/3 cup honey
 1/4 cup Dijon-style prepared mustard
 4 tsp curry powder
 1 pinch ground cayenne pepper
 4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts
  Start by combining all of your ingredients in a dish and allowing them to marinate for at least 4 hours.
  BWHAHAHAHA.
  No, seriously, start by swearing because you, as usual, forgot to marinate the penny chicken and now it’s an hour before dinner.
  …this time our chicken actually got marinated.  I was clever enough to mention to my Mr. that it had to be done and he remembered to get it going in time.  I’ve made this dish many, many times, and I think I’ve remembered to marinate it twice?
  If you can remember to marinate it ahead, do it.  If not, don’t stress.  It still turns out delicious even if, like me, you have the memory of a kumquat. 
  Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.  Bad memory folks, combine all your ingredients into a baking dish making sure your chicken gets nice and coated in the honey mustard mixture.  Folks whose memories I envy?  Go ahead and gloat for a minute til your oven beeps.  Pull your prepared dish out of the fridge and remove the saran wrap.
  Place some tinfoil over the dish and cook for approximately 10 minutes.  Remove from the oven, take the foil off and cook for another 25 minutes*. 
  *The original recipe says only another 10 minutes.  I wind up with raw chicken if I don’t do more.  [Insert boilerplate language about oven temperatures/cook times varying here.  Check to make sure your chicken is cooked through folks!]
  As I said, I’ve made this recipe many times…that’s because it’s always a hit around here!  The marinade is nice and sweetly spicy without being too much for G and the chicken stays wonderfully juicy.  Try it out, I bet it will become a favorite.
Leave a Reply

