Seahorse Pillow

  Today’s project is one I’ve been wanting to show you guys since the minute I finished it, but, DRAT, while not a xmas present, was a December birthday gift and I didn’t want to take the chance that my friend would see it before I was able to give it to her.
  My friend Megan is ocean-crazy and has always had a thing for seahorses, so when I stumbled across the pattern for this on Pinterest I knew I was going to have to make one for her.
  To make this even more special, I managed to have fabric leftover from making my bridesmaid dress for her wedding and used that to create this guy.  Isn’t he gorgeous?
  He’s a pretty good size at around a foot and a half, and with as happy as I am with how this one turned out, I’m very seriously thinking that (after I finish the other 5,000 projects I have for in there), G’s new room is going to need one.
  Now, I’m not going to claim that this is a quick project…that entire spine running from his tail tip to his neck is hand stitched…but I think all told I finished this in the space of two evenings.  It’s not necessarily something that I’d normally do more than once…but I’ve found that kind of finicky hand sewing is a fabulous way to fight off my nesting urges and keep myself from heading to the store to buy a bunch of baby junk I don’t need.
  The pattern is pretty straight forward.  Print out the pieces, tape them together on the lines and cut along the edge.  Your horizontal ridges are simply pin tucks along the dashed lines, and like I said, the vertical spine is hand-stitched freehand.  There isn’t a marking on the pattern for where to attach the eye, but that was kind of fine by me, since I thought where they put theirs was a little goofy looking anyhow.  I did a Google image search for seahorse photos to get a better idea of where their eyes are naturally to decide where to attach mine.
  The really cool thing about this project is that seahorses come in just about every color imaginable…so no matter what fabric you have, it could very well be a plausible shade.  You don’t need even a full yard of fabric to work with, and if you’re working with 58″ fabric or wider (and aren’t picky about the directional patterns) you can get away with only 12″ or so.  Awesome use for scraps!
  I don’t expect there would be a whole heck of a lot of questions about this one…like I said, the pattern walks you through it pretty well, but let me know if you get stuck anywhere and I’ll be happy to do what I can to help!
Leave a Reply

