Primal Philly Cheesesteak- or “Who Needs A Bun Anyhow?”

  I’ve never been a big fan of sandwiches.  Too much bread for my taste with most of them, and with hot sandwiches like a Philly Cheesesteak, it gets all soggy.  Gross.
  Ok, so I’m a little picky about my grains.  Mr. says my grain preferences are the most high maintenance thing about me.  I still haven’t decided if that’s a slam or a compliment.
  Either way, this is exactly how I think a Philly Cheesesteak should be.  Forget the bread.  This is freaking incredible.
1 lb. skirt steak, sliced thinly*
2 green peppers, sliced
2 yellow onions, sliced
8 oz. mushrooms, sliced
~4 oz. cheese, shredded or sliced**
2 Tbsp butter
1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 Tbsp hot sauce
*We used a combination of sirloin and round steak since we had them.  Flank steak would also work.
**We used a combination of Provolone, American and Colby Jack to get good melting and traditional Philly Cheesesteak flavor.  Also, I’m sure we used more than 4 oz.
  Start by sauteing your steak in an oven proof pan with your butter melted in it and with your Worcestershire sauce and hot sauce mixed in.  Cook until your beef is really well browned and then add your vegetables.  Cook until your peppers and onions are nice and soft and mushrooms are done.  Heat up your broiler while you wait.
  Once your vegetables are cooked, top the whole thing with cheese and place it under the broiler.  Leave it there until all of your cheese is melted, and, if you like it that way, begins to brown.  Now try and share with your family.  I had thirds!
  I know I keep saying this about the low carb/paleo recipes, but this is going to be on our menu a ton.  I’m certainly not going to say I’m happy about the whole gestational diabetes debacle, but it’s absolutely led me to a whole slew of incredible dinner ideas!
Leave a Reply

