Baked Eggs with Sweet Potato and Gorgonzola

  More eggs!  But this time it’s not actually a frittata.  We had this for dinner, but it would absolutely work for breakfast.  Or brunch.  Or really any time, so long as you’re not starving to death and can wait half an hour or so for it to cook.
  Here’s what we’re making:
1 large sweet potato, peeled and chopped into 1/2″ cubes
½ medium red onion, diced
1 Tbsp olive oil
½ tsp salt
3-4 eggs
2 oz Gorgonzola cheese*
*BWHAHAHA.  You know I used like 8 oz.
  Start by preheating your oven to 375 degrees.  Toss your sweet potato, onion, olive oil and salt in a bowl until nicely mixed and pour into a baking dish.  Bake for 15-20 minutes or until your sweet potatoes are soft.  I didn’t dice my potatoes quite as small as I was supposed to and so after 17 minutes they were still a tad crunchier than I wanted.  Next time I’ll know better.
  Remove your dish from the oven and crack eggs over top.  Cover with gorgonzola and return to the oven for another 15-20 minutes (depending on how you want your eggs set).  Serve alone or with toast.
  Geeze this is good.  I’m not a huge fan of eggs (eaten on their own I can’t have more than one without my stomach getting upset), so next time I’d probably mix them in instead of cracking them on top…you know…so it’s more like a frittata (of course), but the flavors of the red onion, sweet potato and gorgonzola are just incredible together.  I used 5 eggs to make ours, and I’d say that next time I’d double the whole recipe, but as it was, if we hadn’t run out I would have eaten until I made myself sick it was so delicious.
  G didn’t eat a ton of this, but I’m pretty sure that was more toddler-belligerence than a dislike of the meal.  Just meant more for me and the Mr.
Leave a Reply

